Search This Blog

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Two to Skip

Brainrush - Richard Bard - a 99 cent Kindle read.  Product description:  "When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent--including Battista, one of the world's most dangerous terrorists.  To save his love and her autistic child, Jake is thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan--where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.

An original weave of current events bound by colorful locations and cutting-edge technology, Bard's novel is a must-read for fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Brad Thor. A dynamic mix of fast-paced action and thought provoking soul, this book challenges the reader to keep pace with every sharp turn and shocking twist. Acclaimed by fans of action, sci-fi, and political thrillers alike, Brainrush is one of the most innovative and entertaining books of the year."

Started out fine, but quickly went downhill.  It has gotten great reviews and was OK for the price (almost free), but the characters had no depth and were sterotypical, the plot was too fantastic and too wide-ranging--from newly discovered brain capabilities to international terrorists to love story.  Oh, yeah, a deeply moving love story based on a few hours acquaintance.  And by the way, the product review mentions the love interest's autistic child, but she has no children.  There are autistic children being experimented on, however, to turn them into terrorists.  blah.

A Dozen Deadly Roses -- Kathy Bennett.  Another 99 cent Kindle.  Oh, when will I learn!  Another superficial and silly disappointment.  Product Description: "Los Angeles Police Officer Jade Donovan is being hunted. There’s the lieutenant who’s out to get her, the psycho who’s stalking her and leaving dead roses at her door, but most frightening of all, she’s been assigned to partner with her son’s father, Mac Stryker. Mac doesn’t know he’s Donnie’s dad, and Jade will stop at nothing to prevent him from finding out and possibly taking away her son. She will protect and defend him at all costs."

Although, once again, the majority of the reviews are positive, read the 2 star reviews to get a better idea of content.

2 comments:

  1. Whoa. Those two do sound skippable. Think I'll pass.

    ReplyDelete